Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



(Stock Code: 939)

Announcement on Appointment of Director

On 7 June 2012, China Construction Bank Corporation (the "**Bank**") adopted a resolution at the 2011 annual general meeting in which Ms. Elaine La Roche was elected as an independent non-executive director of the Bank. China Banking Regulatory Commission has approved qualification of Ms. Elaine La Roche to hold office. The board of directors (the "**Board**") hereby announces that, Ms. Elaine La Roche shall be appointed as an independent non-executive director of the Bank.

The emoluments of Ms. Elaine La Roche shall be determined with reference to *the Measures on Administration of Allowance for Independent Directors and External Supervisors of China Construction Bank Corporation*. The Nomination and Compensation Committee of the Board shall, at the end of each year, propose the emoluments distribution plan, which shall be presented to the Board for consideration and be subject to implementation upon the approval by the shareholders' meeting.

Please refer to the *Circular of the 2011 Annual General Meeting of the Bank*, published on the website of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited at <u>www.hkex.com.hk</u> on 22 April 2012 for the Curriculum Vitae of Ms. Elaine La Roche.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to welcome Ms. Elaine La Roche to join the Board.

By order of the Board of Directors **China Construction Bank Corporation Zhang Jianguo** Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

28 September 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Hongzhang, Mr. Zhang Jianguo and Mr. Chen Zuofu; the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Yam Chi Kwong, Joseph, Dame Jenny Shipley, Ms. Elaine La Roche, Mr. Zhao Xijun and Mr. Wong Kai-Man; and the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yong, Mr. Zhu Zhenmin, Ms. Li Xiaoling, Mr. Lu Xiaoma, Ms. Chen Yuanling and Mr. Dong Shi.