Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



中國建設銀行股份有限公司

China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 939)

(USD Preference Shares Stock Code: 4606)

Announcement on the Appointment of Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy as Independent Non-executive Director

On 15 June 2017, China Construction Bank Corporation (the "Bank") considered and approved the proposal at the 2016 annual general meeting in which Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy was elected as an independent non-executive director of the Bank. The board of directors of the Bank (the "Board") hereby formally announces that, effective from 15 August 2017, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy was appointed as an independent non-executive director of the Bank.

The emolument of Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy shall be determined pursuant to *Measures* on Administration of Allowance for Independent Directors and External Supervisors of China Construction Bank Corporation. The Nomination and Remuneration Committee of the Board shall, after the end of each year, propose the emoluments distribution plan, which shall be presented to the Board for consideration and be submitted to the shareholders' general meeting for approval.

Please refer to the Announcement on the Resolutions of the Meeting of the Board of Directors dated 20 December 2016, published on the HKEXnews website of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited at www.hkexnews.hk for the biographical details of Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy.

The Board would like to take this opportunity to welcome Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy to join the Board.

Announcement of the captioned matter is hereby given.

By order of the Board
China Construction Bank Corporation
Wang Zuji

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

17 August 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Zuji, Mr. Pang Xiusheng and Mr. Zhang Gengsheng; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Ms. Feng Bing, Mr. Zhu Hailin, Mr Li Jun, Mr. Wu Min, Mr. Zhang Qi and Ms. Hao Aiqun; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Ms. Anita Fung Yuen Mei, Sir Malcolm Christopher McCarthy, Mr. Carl Walter, Mr. Chung Shui Ming Timpson and Mr. Murray Horn.